Speculative Vision Science Fiction and Fantasy scifi fantasy forum
    HOME | ART | FORUM | ARCADE | LIBRARY | NETWORK
Scifi and Fantasy Forum: Writer's Discussion: Problems with Writing: Problems with Writing: Fantasy synopsis...

Fantasy synopsis...

We have moved to new forum software and posting here is closed!

PLEASE BOOKMARK THE NEW FORUMS

Posted By: View Profile/ContactSeidon Jun 25, 2002 - 02:42 am Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page/Submit ReplyRight click to create a link to this message  Search for posts by this user

Hey guys, just found this place but looks to be the most used fantasy writing forum I've found yet.

Either way, I'm a pretty hardcore writer, I've finished, rewrote, edited my most recent novel. Currently I'm attempting to write a synopsis for it to be able to send to agents along with the query, SASE, etc...

I understand how integral an excellent synopsis is in selling a novel. It can make or break you... due to this I've spent a VERY long time doing research into writing a synopsis.

Now I'm stuck.

Nobody ever talks about writing a fantasy synopsis, everybody talks about mainstream fiction, romance, or weird books. All the sample synopses that I've read are based on books that are set in our world, are fairly short(200-300 pgs), involve only maybe two to four main/secondary and have a fairly linear plotline...

Unfortunately for anybody who reads or write fantasy, it is obvious that most of these traits don't apply to the genre. Generally fantasy books aren't set in our world, are a tad bit longer then normal fiction (300-500 pgs), and have plots that can range to anything from a mystery, to a romance, to a story told from end to beginning(or all of these mixed together)

One of the best things about the fantasy genre is its ability to encompass anything anybody wants to write about.