speculative visionscience fiction and fantasy

Universal Story Outline

Our "How To" forum. Share your tips and techniques for being a better writer.

Moderators: Bmat, Qray

Bookmark and Share

Universal Story Outline

Postby Forever Zero » Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Alright, I have this epic I've been working on for over 3 years now, and I still can't decide which format I want to present it in; and when it really comes down to it, I'm going to present it in the form that I have a chance to present it in. I'll take whatever comes my way at this point.

So with that in mind, I'm trying to figure out a way to outline everything in my story, and having difficulty doing so due to how it's set up. I will be starting with Episode V, out of a total of six episodes. So naturally I have 4 full episodes, each their own story, providing backstory for Episode V. So it's really hard to outline when I get to a point and need to throw in "This is due to blah blah in Episode [Number], etc." Especially when I introduce a new character that isn't supposed to be revealed yet. A lot of characters make an appearance early on as mysterious figures, and later it is revealed who they are. So as far as an outline goes, I want to refer to every character as who they truly are, even if they're not supposed to be revealed yet, and I'm not sure if I should go into character descriptions as soon as they're introduced, or at the point in the story when they are revealed.