(new writer, new book) Oblivion - Survival.

Not sure if you're on the right track? Post anything from character descriptions, snippets of text, or even whole chapters to get some advice.

Moderator: Bmat

Sonaku
Just Registered
Just Registered

(new writer, new book) Oblivion - Survival.

Post by Sonaku »

Hi there. I'm kinda new to the writers scene and have just started writing a new novel (I'm not counting my fanfics) it's the first in a series of planned novels. i would love some critique and feedback

Oblivian - Survival: chapter 1
► Show Spoiler

The Master
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: (new writer, new book) Oblivion - Survival.

Post by The Master »

Welcome to SV Sonaku! :)

If possible it is best to separate your paragraphs with a space to make it easier to read.

Its a little derivative but I can see some good potential for the story idea. It probably would make a good Anime screenplay. Unfortunately, your concept is being overshadowed by a distractingly high number of grammatical errors and structural problems. This interrupts the flow of the text to a degree that the work is difficult to read. To be brutally honest I would highly suggest that you focus intently on improving your general writing skills.

I also feel that the prologue is confusing and overly dense. You have terrorists, multiple human wars, a suggestion of possible nuclear holocaust, alien war machines, and robots taking over the surface of the planet. Into this mix you have your narrator stops to introduce himself. Its...well...exausting is the right word I suppose. I think it would benefit the story to simplify the prologue to its most relevant points involving the alien machines that come to dominate the planet. If the human war components come into significant play later in the plot you might instead expand the prologue into a more complete chapter so that you can tell a more thorough history.

thegreentick
Forum Addict
Forum Addict

Practice makes perfect

Post by thegreentick »